Hitman screening at GSC Mid Valley

One of the perk that staffs in my company enjoy are free screening of latest movie. Usually it’s held one or two days before the official release at the cinemas nationwide. That’s why I enjoy working here šŸ™‚

Last week, I got a chance to watch the quite anticipated movie based on a popular PC game published by Eidos, Hitman. I must admit I’m not a fan of game-turns-into-a-movie mainly because most them sucks (no thanks to you Mr. Uwe Boll). To name a few like Doom, DOA, Resident Evil (except for the latest incarnation, Extinction) failed to make box-office collection.

Even my colleague who writes movie review warned me not to bring my gamer’s mentality when watching this movies or else she said I wouldn’t enjoyed it much. Luckily for me, I never played Hitman not even once in my entire life (blame it on my aging Radeon 8500le graphic card :P), so I don’t have any expectation whatsoever when I step into the screening hall.

This story revolve around an elite assassin, Agent 47 (played by Timothy Olyphant) who worked for a super-secretive agency only known as The Agency. Thing started to go wrong when he’s hired to kill Russia’s Prime Minister and the plot start from there. The storyline look simple and straight-forward but the action make most for this film.

Most of the melee (lol gamers :p) fights are beautifully choreographed with lots of gore, excessive blood and violence thrown out. Dialogs are kept short and simple whilst this film emphasis more on the action. It is a good thing but this is where the film falls short. As the main character, Olyphant fails to emit a certain kind of coolness and aura that I believe an elite assassins like the caliber of Agent 47 should possess. Most of face expression he made fails to impress me and look out of place most of the time. Just imagine if Agent 47 played by the like of Vin Diesel….. now that what I called an ass-whopping assassin to me šŸ˜›

One of the let down of the story is a very simple storyline. As I’m a sucker for good storyline, I found out that the conspiracy theory thingy dish out in this film is rather bland and mediocre compared to other assassins/spy/action movies. Even introduction of a sexy female protagonist, Nika (played by Olga Kurylenko) doesn’t help much in the development of the plot as I think she’s only there only for eye-candy :p.

One thing I found a little bit annoying was excessive censor on parts involved some skins showing and sexually suggestive act as it’s distastefully done. I wonder where do out censorship sets the bar as on other film like Rise:Blood Hunter where I can see clearly Lucy Liu’s breasts as she goes on all out frontal nude in that film. And all F word are censored in this movie.

Final verdict: This movies it’s just a mediocre action flicks that thrive on actions and special effects but falls short on storyline department. Thus I only rate this movie 2.5 out of 5 stars.

About roymcavoy
Nothing much..... Just an ordinary, regular, straight 27 years old who lives in Malaysia

Leave a Reply

