BOOTMGR is compressed

Last Thursday, I’m doing a routine disk cleanup on my office’s PC C: drive, as the current free space is reduced to only 516MB. This time however, I did checked the box for compressed old files, as doing so will save me approximately 4GB of space. Found out later that my choice wasn’t a very good one.
Next day, when I switched on my PC, I was greeted by an error message right after POST screen. I got this error message on my screen,

BOOTMGR is compressed. Press ctrl+alt+del to restart

Well pressing ctrl+alt+del didn’t helped much, it’s just restrted the PC again and the same error message is displayed when POST is completed. So I turn to the trustworthy Uncle Google for help but mostly I found out this problem happened on Vista installed PC, while my PC is running Windows 2000 Professional as a primary OS with Microsoft Longhorn (that Vista in beta version) as a secondary OS in a dual boot configuration. So none of the solution offered worked for me.

Not until I stumbled upon this great blog http://www.jtlabs.net/blog/posts/18 Actually, to solve the problem is very simple an straight-forward. You just need to decompressed the BOOTMGR so it can function normally.

So, let me reiterate steps I’ve taken to fix the problem. 1st I inserted the Windows 2000 installation cd into my CD-ROM drive and boot from it. Next, I let the installation to load all the driver. After it finished loading, I hit

R

to choose the Windows Installation Repair Option and then hit

C

to enter console command option. Next, I choose 1 for my current Windows 2000 installation that I would like to repair.

Next step, I type

cd \

to change directory to the root

C:\

drive. To decompressed the BOOTMGR, I just simply typed

attrib -c bootmgr

Restarted the PC after that and walla!, my PC is functioning again once more.

About roymcavoy
Nothing much..... Just an ordinary, regular, straight 27 years old who lives in Malaysia

One Response to BOOTMGR is compressed

  1. After typing “attrib -c bootmgr” (Without parenthesis ofcourse) I get an error saying “Invalid switch – -c” Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

